Open top terrarium


Crafting and Cooking

I’ve been dying to create a terrarium since a friend of mine created a really pretty one and posted a photo on Facebook. It’s taken me awhile to actually get down to making one though. Why? It took me four different trips to garden centers to find succulents that I really liked. I wanted a particular shape.

It figures, though, the one I really wanted, is really delicate and a bunch of the leaves fell off as I put it in the glass container. Sigh.

Supplies: Large glass container, plants, stones, sand, activated charcoal and soil.

I wanted an open terrarium, but you could do one with a lid. The charcoal is so the water gets filtered and doesn’t smell. The lady at the garden center pointed me directly to the soil that is for cacti and succulents. I got the stones at the dollar store. Win.

Start layering. I…

View original post 206 more words

Leave some thoughts or comments:

