How to prune and reshape an overgrown bonsai tree


Johntheplantman's stories, musings, and gardening.

How to prune and reshape an overgrown bonsai tree

 I started a bonsai for Micky about twelve years ago by cutting up a dwarf procumbens juniper and potting it in a clay saucer. I think the last time I pruned it was about five years ago. It was one of those things I kept meaning to get around to and didn’t.  So, the other day, armed with my pruning shears, a pair of scissors, and a cup of Micky’s good coffee, I tackled the job. Here’s what the plant looked like:

The first step is to look inside and see what the trunk looks like. I was pleased to see that the lower portion of this trunk was covered with moss.  I looked for unwanted growth and dead stuff. I found it, too.

The only tools I needed were a pair of pruning shears for the woody parts and…

View original post 454 more words

One thought on “How to prune and reshape an overgrown bonsai tree

  1. Pingback: Care of Bonsai Trees – You Don’t Need Special Seeds | Everyday Christianity - A Sarcalogos Website

Leave some thoughts or comments:

