Foundation planting with containers creates “a changeable garden”


Johntheplantman's stories, musings, and gardening.

Foundation planting with containers-a “changeable garden”

 Today’s article is about what I call a “Barbie Doll Garden.”  Here’s the story:

One of my favorite clients for a number of years is very easy to please as long as she gets ­exactly what she wants.  The problem is that I sometimes have to get really creative to reach that goal.  I spent a lot of time trying to get the entrance planting just right but she kept asking me to move this or change that.  Finally, in order to make the moving and changing easier, I got some nice clay pots and created a garden that can be moved around and changed easily.  I got tickled when I figured out that it was kind of like playing with a doll house and being able to change things easily and at will.

The planting is divided into three sections.  In…

View original post 591 more words

Leave some thoughts or comments:

